The State of Indiana legislature directs cities to establish executive departments that are necessary to efficiently perform administrative functions. The City of Monticello has three appointed boards and one Union Township Trustee, all who assist in conducting municipal business.

The chief administrative appointed agency is the Monticello Board of Public Works and Safety. Appointed by Mayor Ken Houston, this board approves orders or contracts for public works, pays bills and purchases equipment and supplies. The MRC/EDC oversee issues dealing with industrial development and tax increment financing districts. The Union Township Trustee's chief duty is to oversee poor relief funds and providing help to needy families.

Board of Works & Safety

Members: Mayor Houston, Grace Oilar, and Andy Harmon
When: Meet 3rd Monday of month
Where: Municipal Ctr. Council Room
Time: 5:30PM